Creative Nuisance

Musings From My Soul

New Year Resolutions!!

with 9 comments

I got tempted to write this post after seeing so many of my fellow bloggers writing about New Year Resolutions and how they manage to break a promise they made on the first day of every new year. So I thought – why not add one more post to this blogosphere, and here I am writing the same. Driven by curiosity I did a google search on the phrase ” New year resolutions” and it produced 75,700,000 results. Now doing some further analysis by google trends, I got the following interesting curve:

New Year Resolutions Search Volumes

As expected, the number of New Year Resolutions made surges like an impulse starting from Dec 15th and dies down by Jan 15th. What is more interesting to note is  the area from which the search generates. India tops the list, with Singapore following a distant second. USA figures at the 9th on the list. (Does it give any indication on the way India  is heading in this century? Well I think definitely- for it will be a major pivotal point in the global economy in the years to come.)  Now coming to cities, Bangalore brags the 1st positions with Mumbai, Delhi and Chennai following.  Oh! Indian cities leading the way. Great to hear this!!

Now enough of statistics. Lets now look into top 10 resolutions till now as provided by about.com (See if yours figure on the list) :

  1. Spending more time with friends and family – OMG. This is one complicated resolution .
  2. Keeping Fit – Sweating it out on Gym? or running ? Leave it,   this looks good on the resolutions page!
  3. Reigning in on the bulge – Ignoring the crispy chickens and garmagaram samosas? Will think on this one.
  4. Quit smoking – Hmm, its time to read the line on the cigar boxes!
  5. Enjoy life more – What The Hell ?
  6. Quit drinking – Yeah, for the day, right?
  7. Get out of Debt –  WTF? At least, the recessions helped to get this on the list of New year resolutions. Who would have thought of it last year!!
  8. Learn something new – No comments!
  9. Help Others – So down in the list? C’mon man, we should be happy that this figured on the list of resolutions!!
  10. Get organized – Hmm, that is one vow that I take every second of my life.

I was quite disheartened after seeing the list.  Except for resolution 9, every other involved around the person. And none whatsoeverabout the climate or the environment. Its 2010, and there is still not a sense of urgency among the human community to think about the blue bubble( read, the earth).  I would not give any gyan here. It’s a request from a tiny voice on the blogosphere to lend a patient ear to the miseries of this planet.   I would just keep one thing on my list : Stop littering  on the streets.

Ending on a lighter tone, here’s probably what most New Year resolutions are like ( hope mine’s not like these):

Beat this!

Resolutions!!

P.S.: Do send in your New Year resolutions. I would love to read them.

Written by Abhishek

January 4, 2010 at 7:52 PM

Posted in Social

Tagged with , , , , ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thoughtful to say the least… I wil add 1 of your resolutions to my basket too ..i.e. Stop littering on the streets.

    Infact i had a new post on New year resolution too…albeit its a humorous one..here it is
    http://totalgadha.com/tgtown/loser/2009/12/31/happy-new-yearsome-resolves-that-would-stay-put-p/

    Hope that u like it and my latest post too(about my most emabarrassing moments..hilarious again 🙂 )

    BTW out of utter curiosity can you tell me from where did u get to know about my blog 🙂

    Tc buddy and keep postiong and commenting 😉

    NIsh

    January 5, 2010 at 11:06 AM

    • Your posts are really quite hilarious. I have gone through them earlier and are very interesting to read. I would like to mention the intent and humour with which these are written and appreciate these facts.

      As far as your question regarding “can you tell me from where did u get to know about my blog 🙂 ” are concerned, I do a lot of scourging over the net, namely, blog directories, orkut, facebook, et al. ; and try and discover interesting reads.

      🙂

      Abhishek Datta

      January 5, 2010 at 8:22 PM

      • Ohhk….Thanks for the appreciation…

        Dont think taht yhis is some mutual admiration policy or something but apart from the posts I really loved the images you have used in the posts…

        Hey why dont u make a blog at tgtown itself..You know u can register for free and then similar minded peopl read and give their feedback PLUS they would put ads which can generate revenue(i know its very tough to generate revenue out of ad clicks but whats the harm in giving it a try)…Let me know if you are interested..i will help u out and even if u r not interested no prob i will keep coming back to your blog as i loved it really 🙂

        Panish

        January 5, 2010 at 8:41 PM

      • @ Panish : Well I would have really loved to have a blog at TGTown. But since I am maintaining this blog for sometime and have networked it across to my friends, I would not like to abandon it. May be sometime in the future, I can look forward to it. Till then, you can always come back to this blog for my posts. 🙂

        Abhishek Datta

        January 5, 2010 at 8:52 PM

      • No prob…i will come for sure and here i am 🙂

        Panish

        January 5, 2010 at 10:23 PM

  2. LIKE LIKE the writeup>>

    anurag

    January 5, 2010 at 2:22 PM

    • Thanks Anurag!

      Abhishek Datta

      January 5, 2010 at 8:22 PM

  3. Great Great Blog, buddy.
    Enjoyed it.

    My new year’s resolutions; well, i stopped taking those long long time ago. 🙂

    Rohit.. :)

    January 5, 2010 at 4:49 PM

    • Thanks Rohit. Its nice to know that you loved my posts.

      Abhishek Datta

      January 5, 2010 at 8:23 PM


Leave a Reply

