Creative Nuisance

Musings From My Soul

Wings of Fire

with one comment

As my readers have noticed, I like to, from time to time, pick up certain quotes from books I have read or am currently reading.This time its “Wings of Fire” – An autobiography of A.P.J. Abdul Kalam. It is a record of an amazing journey of Abdul Kalam from a very humble village to the highest and most respected position in the country.

APJ Abdul Kalam

Following are some of the passages from the book that has moved me:

We are all born with a divine fire in us
Our efforts should be to give wings to this fire
and fill the world with the glow of its goodness

The best way to win was to not need to win. The best performances are accomplished when you are relaxed and free of doubt.

I have always been a religious person in the sense that I maintain a working partnership with God. I was aware that the best work required more ability than I possessed and therefore I needed help that only God could give me. I made a true estimate of my own ability, then raised it by 50 per cent and put myself in God’s hands. In this partnership, I have always received all the power I needed, and in fact have actually felt it flowing through me. Today, I can affirm that the kingdom of God is within you in the form of this power, to help achieve your goals and realise your dreams.

The trouble is that we often merely analyse life instead of dealing with it. People dissect their failures for causes and effects, but seldom deal with them and gain experience to master them and thereby avoid their recurrence. This is my belief: that through difficulties and problems God gives us the opportunity to grow. So when your hopes and dreams and goals are dashed, search among the wreckage, you may find a golden opportunity hidden in the ruins.

Life is a difficult game. You can win it only by retaining your birthright to be a person. And to retain this right, you will have to be willing to take the social or external risks involved in ignoring pressures to do things the way others say they should be done.

Written by Abhishek

June 4, 2010 at 11:45 AM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. His words never fail to impress any of us!

    Arjit

    June 21, 2010 at 8:21 AM


Leave a Reply

