Creative Nuisance

Musings From My Soul

Feeling the Rain. Still.

with 6 comments

Standing on the edge of the cliff.
As I stared at the far off horizon, I could
Feel the clouds lurking somewhere in the sky,
And feel the fleeting winds zip by.

All of a sudden, it started to pour.
Leisurely, and then gained pace,
I stood there, drenched in the rain,
Not willing to go, feeling inane.

The evening gradually rolled in,
Wrapping the earth in its gloomy veil.
I stood there, absorbing the last few rays
Piercing through the long drawn haze.

And I lay down on the ground,
Soaking my soul in the numbing sounds,
I lay there, with my awakened sense of touch.
Never have I enjoyed the shower so much.

Know not when I fell asleep
Know not when the morning broke
I woke up, with the sun staring at my face,
Shining vigorously with all its grace.

As I stood up, my dress dripping wet,
And turned to go back to my place, I could
Feel the clouds lurking somewhere in the sky,
And feel the fleeting winds zip by.


– A night dedicated to the rain Gods

Standing on the edge of the cliff.

As I stared at the far off horizon, I could

Feel the clouds lurking somewhere in the sky,

And feel the fleeting winds zip by.

All of a sudden, it started to pour.

Leisurely, and then gained pace,

I stood there, drenched in the rain,

Not willing to go, feeling inane.

The evening gradually rolled in,

Wrapping the earth in its gloomy veil.

I stood there, absorbing the last few rays

Piercing through the long drawn haze.

And I lay down on the ground,

Soaking my soul in the numbing sounds,

I lay there, with my awakened sense of touch.

Never have I enjoyed the shower so much.

Know not when I fell asleep

Know not when the day broke

I woke up, with the sun staring at my face,

Shining vigorously with all its grace.

As I stood up, my dress dripping wet,

And turned to go back to my place, I could

Feel the clouds lurking somewhere in the sky,

And feel the fleeting winds zip by.

Written by Abhishek

July 25, 2010 at 12:55 PM

Posted in Pictoral, Poem, Spiritual

Tagged with , , , , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love the way the poem’s words touch the senses.

    slpmartin

    July 25, 2010 at 7:42 PM

  2. Too good a way to have worded this one! And so very well rhymed too..
    I could almost feel the rain… it was that vivid!!!
    Loved it!

    Kavita

    July 26, 2010 at 5:15 AM

  3. Pls, pls direct some rain laden clouds towards Delhi!

    Purba

    July 26, 2010 at 7:52 AM

  4. Beautiful poem, lovely imagery. I love getting drenched in the rain, but have never fallen asleep while raining. Read a few of your other poems, you are very talented!

    Thank you for visiting my blog!

    deadpoet88

    July 26, 2010 at 9:18 PM

  5. Great shot, nice crop, great tones!

    ProphecyBlur

    August 2, 2010 at 12:11 AM

  6. It rained last night.
    Inundating my soul.
    Somehow it managed to penetrate so deep.
    To wash ‘it’ all…

    And sprouts this morning in me,
    This life.
    Innocent, tender and green.
    And I am changed…

    gazal

    August 27, 2010 at 2:27 PM


Leave a Reply

